HISTORY

A little history...


The history of Gabon before the fifteenth century is little known. However, prehistoric remains dating from the Paleolithic and Neolithic found along the valley of Ogooué including Lopé attest to a very old occupation (more than 400 000 years).

Around the thirteenth century: The peoples of the west (Myene, Mpongwe, Orungou and Galoa), are established in the country. Those of the south-west, whose Pounou, come from the Congo, those of the south-east (Nzebi, Teke) are related to the Bateke of Brazzaville. The installation of Fangs in the north is more recent. The Pygmies are the first known inhabitants of the Gabonese forest.

It was the Portuguese in 1472 who discovered the country and entered the Estuary region. They baptized the country "Gabao" then became "Gabon". In the mission of repression of the slave trade, the French navy obtained a first treaty which was signed in 1839 by King Denis RAPONTCHOMBO who ruled on the left bank of the Estuary of Gabon and obtained the right to install a base on the left bank of the Estuary and later on the right bank.

1844: The French create a military post in the estuary of Gabon. From then on, the French Catholic missions multiply in the country.

1849: Libreville is founded by slaves that French officers pulled from the holds of a slave ship.

Second half of the 19th century: The French extend their influence to the interior of the country, signing agreements with the peoples of the south-east.

Between 1875 and 1885: Pierre Savorgnan de Brazza explores the Ogooué and reaches the Congo River.

1886: After the border between German Cameroon and French Gabon was fixed at the Congress of Berlin, Gabon becomes a territory of the French colonial empire. The commercial companies of the metropolis receive large concessions and engage in the exploitation of okoumé. The development of the territory remains very limited.

From 1899: Gabon is attached to the French Congo, Libreville remains the capital of the territory thus extended.

1904: Libreville however loses this status in favor of Brazzaville.

1910: Gabon becomes a colony of French Equatorial Africa (A.E.F.).

The inter-war period was marked by the extension of forced labor, to which the colonial authorities resorted for the construction of the Congo-Océan railway. The conditions of life and work are such on the site, where 20 000 to 30 000 men are dead, they cause the first massive revolts against the French administration.

One of the voices raised to denounce the abuses is that of Léon M'Ba, named chief of the canton fang in 1922.

1933: Léon M'ba is exiled in Oubangui-Chari (current Central African Republic).

After 1941: Gabon is acquired in free France after deadly clashes between Vichy and Gaullist settlers.

1946: Gabon becomes French territory overseas, and recovers the Haut-Ogooué region. This region, home to the richest mineral deposits in Gabon, was transferred to the Congo in 1925.

1958: Gabon votes for its integration within the French Community. Léon M'Ba becomes the Prime Minister of the Autonomous Republic of Gabon. He faces criticism from most opposition parties, who criticize him for renouncing independence.

August 17, 1960: Proclamation of independence.

1967: Re-election of M'Ba who dies the same year. His vice-president, Albert Bernard Bongo, succeeds him.

1968: Bongo institutes a single-party system, based on the Gabonese Democratic Party (PDG).

1990: Establishment of the multiparty system.

HISTOIRE

Un peu d'histoire...

L’histoire du Gabon avant le XVe siècle est peu connue. Cependant les vestiges préhistoriques datant du Paléolithique et du Néolithique trouvés le long de la vallée de l’Ogooué notamment à la Lopé attestent d’une occupation très ancienne (+ de 400 000 ans).

Vers le XIIIème siècle : Les peuples de l’ouest (Myéné, Mpongwé, Orungou et Galoa), sont établis dans le pays. Ceux du sud-ouest, dont les Pounou, viennent du Congo, ceux du sud-est (Nzébi, Téké) sont liés aux Batéké de Brazzaville. L’installation des Fangs, dans le nord, est plus récente. Les Pygmées sont les premiers habitants connus de la forêt gabonaise.

Ce sont les portugais en 1472 qui découvrent le pays et pénétrèrent dans la région de l’Estuaire. Ils baptisèrent le pays «Gabao» puis devient «Gabon». Dans la mission de répression de la traite des esclaves, la marine française obtint un premier traité qui fut signé en 1839 par le Roi Denis RAPONTCHOMBO qui régnait sur la rive gauche de l’Estuaire du Gabon et obtint le droit d’installer une base sur la rive gauche de l’Estuaire et plus tard sur la rive droite.

1844 : Les Français créent un poste militaire dans l’estuaire du Gabon. Dès lors, les missions catholiques françaises se multiplient dans le pays.

1849 : Libreville est fondée par des esclaves que des officiers français ont tirés des cales d’un navire négrier.

Seconde moitié du XIXème siècle : Les Français étendent leur influence jusqu’à l’intérieur du pays, signant des accords avec les peuples du sud-est.

Entre 1875 et 1885 : Pierre Savorgnan de Brazza explore l’Ogooué et atteint le fleuve Congo.

1886 : Après que la frontière entre le Cameroun allemand et le Gabon français ait été fixée au congrès de Berlin, le Gabon devient un territoire de l’Empire colonial français. Les sociétés commerciales de la métropole reçoivent de vastes concessions et s’engagent dans l’exploitation de l’okoumé. La mise en valeur du territoire demeure toujours très limitée.

A partir de 1899 : Le Gabon est rattaché au Congo français, Libreville demeurant la capitale du territoire ainsi étendu.

1904 : Libreville perd cependant ce statut au profit de Brazzaville.

1910 : Le Gabon devient une colonie de l’Afrique-Équatoriale Française (A.E.F.).

L’entre-deux-guerres est marqué par l’extension du travail forcé, auquel les autorités coloniales recourent pour la construction du chemin de fer Congo-Océan. Les conditions de vie et de travail sont telles sur le chantier, où 20 000 à 30 000hommes trouvent la mort, qu’elles suscitent les premières révoltes massives contre l’administration française.

L’une des voix qui s’élèvent pour dénoncer les abus est celle de Léon M’Ba, nommé chef du canton fang en 1922.

1933 : Léon M’ba est exilé en Oubangui-Chari (actuelle République centrafricaine).

Après 1941 : Le Gabon est acquis à la France libre à l’issue d’affrontements meurtriers entre colons vichystes et gaullistes.

1946 : Le Gabon devient territoire français d’outre-mer, et récupère la région du Haut-Ogooué. Cette région, où se situent les plus riches gisements miniers du Gabon, a été transférée au Congo en 1925.

1958 : Le Gabon vote pour son intégration au sein de la Communauté française. Léon M’Ba devient le Premier ministre de la République autonome du Gabon. Il est confronté aux critiques de la plupart des partis d’opposition, qui lui reprochent d’avoir ainsi renoncé à l’indépendance.

17 août 1960 : Proclamation de l’indépendance.

1967 : Réélection de M’Ba qui meurt la même année. Son vice-président, Albert Bernard Bongo, lui succède.

1968 : Bongo institue un régime de parti unique, fondé sur le Parti démocratique gabonais (PDG).

1990 : Mise en place du multipartisme.